Myself


I have to live with myself,and so
I want to be fit for my self to know;
I want to be able as days go by
Always to look myself straight in the eye;

I dont want to stand with the setting sun
And hate myself for the things I’ve done.
I never can hide myself from me,
I see what others may never see;

I know what others may never know,
I never can fool myself; and so,
Whatever happens,I want to be
Self respecting and conscience free

Edgar A. Guest

3 Responses to “Myself”

  1. I had read this poem many years ago…and it stuck with me. I had a clipping of it but it got lost over the years. It has a very good message. Thank you for sharing it…

  2. River~Maiden Says:

    Your poetry brings tears to my eyes and touches my soul in ways I cannot explain. I am so honored to have you for a friend. ;)

  3. words that we should all live by.. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

